Story from a poem

The darkest depths of your soul

Knew no bounds of fortitude

To fight against the evil

That consumed you.

The darkest depths of your soul https://thesarahdoughty.wordpress.com/

 

I based the following story on the above mini poem

 

Sigh! If that were only true, that I had that kind of fortitude that knew no bounds

Sadly within the darkest depths of my soul, it remains dark because of me choosing my free will over the powerful freeing light of God’s love

Although I have asked at times I have asked God to take control, and He has done so until I exercise my right of free will to allow myself to plunge into self-indulgence

As to the fight against the evil, I all too often give into temptation instead of putting on the armour of God to do battle against all that is evil

How true it is the evil of temptation consumes my very soul, sapping my strength and resolve to do the will of God

The enemy will use our own weakness and amplify them and twist every truth, so much that truth appear to be false and then doubt easily creeps in

Flooding our minds, spreading through us like poisoned wine contaminating our beliefs and faith

Although I have had answers too many prayers, with many answered so fast the response made me gasp in surprise, I am sure I grieve the Holy Spirit

All too often I cling onto hurts from the past, stubbornly refusing to let go, as if I can change what happened in any way by reliving those events

One thought on “Story from a poem

  1. So True Graham, we can’t walk in Righteousness until we put our Carnal Flesh to death by The Holy Spirit as we aim to be Perfected in Love. We have a promise that no temptation will be greater than we can bear, I wonder if some really believe that this is True and do they also do as King David did.

    Romans 8 :12-15 Therefore, brothers/ sisters, we have an obligation but it is not to the sinful nature to live according to it, or if you live according to the sinful nature you will die but if by the Spirit you put to death the misdeeds of the body you will live, because those who are led by the Spirit of God are sons of God.

    Colossians 3:4-6 When Christ, who is your life, appears, then you also will appear with Him in glory. Put to death therefore whatever belongs to your earthly nature: sexual immorality, impurity, lust, evil desires and greed, which is idolatry. Because of these the wrath of God is coming.

    Galatians 24 -26 And they that are Christ’s have crucified the flesh with the affections and lusts. if we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit.

    2 Corinthians 7: 1 Having therefore these promises, dearly beloved, let us cleanse ourselves from all filthiness of the flesh and spirit, Perfecting Holiness in the fear of God

    Matthew 5:48 Be ye therefore Perfect, even as your Father which is in Heaven is Perfect

    Hebrews 6:1 Therefore leaving the principles of the doctrine of Christ, let us go on unto Perfection; not laying again the foundation of repentance from dead works and of faith toward God.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Like

Leave a Reply

